Forum : Technical Preview

Get all your questions answered about our latest Photosynth Technical Preview.


Topic: "Allow Once" vs. "Always Allow"

Report Abuse Report Abuse
NateLawrence (6 months ago)
All modern browsers display a notice when you take a web app full screen these days for security purposes, which we all know.

One think I've noticed with Photosynth's preview viewer is that while other browsers will allow me to give permission for Photosynth.net to always run fullscreen whereas IE11 only gives me the option to allow it one time, which gets tedious.

I've seen IE 11 give an option to always allow other things (such as allowing a plugin to run on all sites or always allow a particular domain to use pop-ups) so I assume that there is something that can be done to always allow a particular domain to use fullscreen on a given user's desktop account.

If there's anything that could be done on your end to trigger that option, I'd appreciate it.

I'm hoping it's not the IE team's decision to ask the user every session.
adam_mitchell55 (6 months ago)
Hi Nate.  I'm Adam from the Photosynth team.  Thanks for posting this issue.

When I fullscreen in IE11 for Windows 8.1, I see an "Allow Once" button but also an "Options for this site" button which brings up a menu.  One item in the menu is "Always allow".

Do you see this option on your machine?  It should do what you are asking about.
NateLawrence (6 months ago)
Hi, Adam.

Because I've had to do my testing on machines not my own, I'm very nearly always using a private mode window so that I can sign into the site and comment without leaving myself signed in. 

For normal windows, you're right (although I still wish that 'Always allow' were not hidden away), however in InPrivate windows, the user is only presented with 'Allow Once' or 'Deny Once'.
You need to be Signed In to add a comment. (Are you new? Sign Up for a free account.)