Did the leaves fall off? Something not working right? Let us know how we can improve the Photosynth experience.
After taking approximately 7 photosynths, I found that all my previous synths had been deleted. My previous synths had always been in my phone. My phone still has 600mb of space left. How do I recover the synths from the stills that were automatically saved into my camera roll? Thanks!
Technically what you're capturing and stitching with Photosynth's mobile app (or Microsoft ICE http://bit.ly/microsoftice or Adobe Photoshop http://bit.ly/pstops on Windows) are panoramas - not photosynths.
The wraparound versions of your mobile panos are saved in a cube map format in the Photosynth mobile app's storage. What that means is that if you ever uninstall the app, all of the app's saved files are deleted along with it.
For this reason, you should always upload your panoramas to your Photosynth.net account from the app as soon as possible. That way, you always have an online copy, in case you drop your phone in the lake or erase the storage or uninstall the app.
For now, Photosynth doesn't offer a way to transform the flat versions of your panos from your phone's camera roll back into cube maps to be viewed interactively. In reprojecting them to be viewed at a flat pano, resolution has been lost at the top + bottom of the sphere.
There is a possibility that you could use the Microsoft ICE team's Photoshop to Photosynth.net panorama publishing plugin to convert your flattened panos to your Photosynth.net account for interactive viewing.
Alternately, some third party panorama viewers may be able to reproject your flat pano onto a sphere.