Forum : Technical Preview

Get all your questions answered about our latest Photosynth Technical Preview.


Topic: Share feature bug

Report Abuse Report Abuse
From my conversation with Nathan here http://photosynth.net/discussion.aspx?cat=00581351-82d8-438d-a37b-7eadb3fb4991&dis=83c2d00a-c461-44aa-b71a-2d048af85d95

I understand better what is happening when sharing a Synth. On average, I create the Synth and edit its starting point. Later, I return to the Synth and share it, using the share functionality. Of course I expect to share the Synth with the starting point as saved before. However, the saved starting point is not persistent for the share functionality. The shared starting point is where the Synth happened to stop auto play at entering the share functionality. To me this is a straight forward design flaw. If I save Synth properties, I expect them to be persistent.
NateLawrence (10 months ago)
To be clear, if you use the built in Share to Twitter, Tumblr, or Facebook functionality (or copy the embed code to paste into a page yourself) or even just copy the address in the address bar when you're looking at a synth, you'll view it with the author's default starting frame.

The purpose of 'Share Links' is to be able to link someone to exactly what you were looking at in a synth.

With Photosynth 1 Share Links, this included the XYZ position of the virtual camera in relation to the point cloud, the direction that the virtual camera was pointed in, which image you were navigated to, how far you were zoomed in on a photo, whether the viewer was in 3D or 2D view, etc.

The Photosynth team doesn't sound interested in giving us that much freedom this time around, but zooming in on a particular part of a photo might return as part of the Share Link for Photosynth 2 in the future.
You need to be Signed In to add a comment. (Are you new? Sign Up for a free account.)