Do you have an idea for an awesome feature we should add… or hate the way we’re currently doing something? Share your ideas and suggestions here.
privacy settings wood be a good two have pick friends on photosynth.
i agree. I want to upload photos for specific ppl.
Guys, I've said the same thing before - even gone as far as saying that we should be able to choose which people should be able to see individual photos in a synth or choose different photo licenses for individual photos in a synth.
Since we don't have that, though, you should know that if you set your synth or pano to 'Unlisted', it is as good as invisible.
It will not show up in search results on the site.
It will not appear on your profile for anyone to see except for your when you are signed in.
It will not appear on Bing Maps, even if you geotag it.
Search engines will not be able to find it.
So, basically, if you upload something as unlisted, all you need to do is send an email with the link to your new synth or pano* to the people who you'd like to see it. The link is complicated enough not to be guessed by anyone else.
*(Go to your profile and click on the synth's or pano's title or thumbnail and copy the URL in the browser's address bar for a clean link.
Share links are for showing people the part of whatever you're looking at when you click the 'Share' link. For sending someone to the first photo in a synth or the direction in the pano that you've set to be default [in the editor], just a simple link with no "&"s on the end is what you want.)
The one thing that I will say is that anyone who gets the link to an Unlisted synth or pano does not need to have a password to see it, so for anyone who has the link, it is basically public. If the people you send it to decide to send that link to others, then people you didn't intend to see it might be able to see it.
Similarly, if your synth or pano has been public for a while, then people may have already saved the link to it (like Google and Bing) + it may take some time for that link to go away, so unless you have comments on that version of the synth or pano that you want to keep, you may want to just delete the current version + reupload it as an unlisted pano or synth. That way, only people you choose to send the link to the new version (with its new URL) will be able to see it.
If there are comments on the synth or pano or it has been favorited or has a high view count, then you can at least set it as 'unlisted' to keep new people from finding it.